Sep 03, 2008

Water Environment Federation Announces 2008 WEF Excellence Award Recipients

Awards will be presented at WEFTEC.08, Oct. 18 to 22 in Chicago

Each year, the Water Environment Federation (WEF) recognizes excellence and achievement in the water environment profession within the following categories: Individual Service and Contribution, Education, Organization and Association Recognition, Operational and Design Excellence and Published Papers. The awards will be presented during ceremonies at WEFTEC.08, WEF’s 81st annual technical exhibition and conference next month in Chicago, Ill.

2008 WEF Excellence Award Recipients

&#149 Camp Applied Research Medal: Orris E. Albertson;

&#149 Collection Systems Award: George LeRoy Martin;

&#149 Eddy Wastewater Principles and Processes Medal: Craig D. Adams, Glen T. Daigger and Holley Kaempfer Steller;

&#149 Emerson Distinguished Service Medal: Billy G. Turner;

&#149 Engelbrecht International Achievement Award: Daniel A. Nolasco;

&#149 Fair Distinguished Engineering Educator Medal: Dr. James H. Johnson, Jr. and Dr. Daniel H. Zitomer;

&#149 Gascoigne Medal for WWTP Operational Improvement: Thomas Asmus, Michael Gerbitz, Larry Reinke, Kenneth Sedmak and Timothy Stockman;

&#149 Industrial Water Quality Achievement Award: U.S. Dept. of Energy/Honeywell Federal Manufacturing & Technologies;

&#149 Innovative Technology Awards—Four Categories: ADS Environmental Services—ADS Spider (Collection Systems); Accusonic Technologies—Accusonic 7510+ (Instrumentation); AquaAerobic Systems, Inc.—AquaDiamond Filter (Process Equipment); and Penn Valley Pump Company—Double Disc Pump (Solids Handling/Disposal);

&#149 McKee Groundwater Protection, Restoration, Sustainable Use Medal: Johanshir Golchin, Bruce H. Kjartanson, Say Kee Ong, Shane W. Rogers and Greg A. Stenback;

&#149 Member Association Achievement Award: Michigan Water Environment Association and Pacific Northwest Clean Water Association;

&#149 Member Association Safety Award: New England Water Environment Association;

&#149 Outstanding Member Association Award: North Carolina Water Environment Association;

&#149 Outstanding Young Water Environment Professional Award: Charles Bott;

&#149 Public Education Award—Three Categories: Isabel S. Tourkantonis (Individual); Florida Water Environment Association—Public Outreach and Communication Committee (Member Association); and Sanitation Districts of Los Angeles County—Clearwater Program (Other);

&#149 Public Officials Award: The Honorable Thomas M. Menino (mayor, City of Boston, Mass.) and Terrence J. O’Brien (president, Board of Commissioners, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago);

&#149 Rudolfs Industrial Waste Management Medal: Jennifer L. Dauphinais, Ines D. Henriques, Richard T. Kelly II and Nancy G. Love; and

&#149 WEF Graduate Studies Scholarship: Jason J. Flowers, P.E.

As the largest water quality event in North America and largest annual water quality exhibition in the world, WEFTEC.08 is expected to host more than 18,000 of the world’s leading water quality experts and 1,000 companies featuring the latest in water quality technology. WEFTEC.08 will be held at McCormick Place in Chicago from Oct. 18 to 22, 2008.