Neeta Sharma Named Impactful Leader in Water, Water Management

March 13, 2017
Managing director of IAPMO India included on 50-person listing

The International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO) announced that Neeta Sharma, managing director of IAPMO India, was honored at World CSR Day as one of the 50 Most Impactful Leaders (Global Listing) in Water & Water Management.

The distinction honors leaders who are passionate about water management and believe that water management must contribute to social change. The citation was announced Feb. 17 at the World Water Leadership Congress & Awards program in Mumbai, India.

“We extend our congratulations to Neeta for this outstanding news and are very proud of this high honor that has been bestowed upon her,” said IAPMO CEO GP Russ Chaney.

A jury of senior professionals from across the globe reviewed a list of candidates who are doing extraordinary work. The criteria included:

  • Improvement of water efficiency and conservation;
  • Demonstrated leadership within the sector that has had a positive impact in the advancement of water management;
  • Contribution toward water-related groups, associations and institutions;
  • Demonstration of good leadership and governance; and
  • Contribution to water awareness in the community.

Sharma, who joined IAPMO in 2013, has more than 30 years’ experience in public/private work within the standardization and technical fields.

“This honor encourages me to optimize every opportunity I get and bring more laurels home,” said Sharma. “Considering the fact water conservation still doesn’t get the importance it deserves, it further strengthens my resolve to work in this direction’'

Dave Viola, chief operating officer and executive vice president of The IAPMO Group, added: “I cannot express how proud we are to learn of this very impressive acknowledgment. It is a true testament to the meaningful work that Neeta and her team are carrying out in India.”

Source: International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials