Jun 16, 2017

Greeley, Colo., Tap Water Named “Best of the Best”

Colorado city wins AWWA ACE17 tap water taste test competition

Greeley, Colo., wins taste test at ACE17

The American Water Works Assn. (AWWA) announced that the City of Greeley, Colo., has won the 13th annual “Best of the Best” Tap Water Taste Test. The event, composed of regional winners from water-tasting competitions across North America, was held at AWWA’s Annual Conference and Exposition (ACE17) in Philadelphia, Pa.

Second place in the taste test went to Montpelier Municipal Utilities, Montpelier, Ohio. Third place in the competition went to last year’s winner, City of Bloomington, Minn. The People’s Choice award winner, as determined by the conference attendees, was also awarded to the City of Greeley.   

The City of Greeley has two conventional water treatment plants that provide water for the 103,000 citizens of Greeley and surrounding communities. The Bellvue Water Treatment Plant was completed in 1907 with a capacity of 32 million gal per day (mgd) and the Boyd Lake Water Treatment Plant was completed in 1974 with a capacity of 38 mgd.

With the adoption of the 1958 City Charter, Greeley citizens created a Council-appointed Water Board with the duty to "acquire, develop, convey, lease, and protect water and sewer assets, supplies and facilities." Consequently, Greeley one of the most robust water systems in Colorado.

Other “Best of the Best” participants in the competition included: Aqua Illinois – Kankakee Plant, Kankakee, Ill.; Brewster Water Dept., Brewster, Mass.; City of Ann Arbor, Mich.; City of Bozeman, Mont.; City of Canandaigua, N.Y.; City of Carollton Waterworks, Carollton, Ga.; City of El Dorado, Kan.; City of Lethbridge Water Utility, Alberta, Canada; City of Mandan, N.C.; City of Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada; City of Montreal Drinking Water Direction, Montreal, Quebec, Canada; City of North Miami, Fla.; City of St. Cloud, Minn.; City of Saint Louis Water Division, St. Louis, Mo.; City of Salisbury, Md.; City of Sioux Falls, S.D.; City Utilities Commission of Corbin, Ky.; Georgetown County Water & Sewer District, Pawleys Island, S.C.; Green Bay Water Utility, Green Bay, Wis.; Huntsville Utilities, Huntsville, Ala.; Lehigh County Authority, Allentown, Pa.; Marshalltown Waterworks, Marshalltown, Iowa; Merchantville – Pennsauken Water Commission, N.J.; Neuse Regional Water & Sewer Authority, Kinston, N.C.; Philadelphia Water Dept., Philadelphia, Pa.; Puerto Rico Aqueduct and Sewer Authority, San Juan, Puerto Rico; San Jacinto River Authority, GRP Division, Conroe, Texas; Spotsylvania County Utilities, Fredricksburg, Va.; Union Hill Water Association, Redmond, Wash.; Village of Cortland, Neb.; and West Virginia American Water, Charleston, W.V.

A judging panel rated each water system on its flavor characteristics. Judges included Andrea Dietrich Monique Durand, engineer with Hazen and Sawyer P.C., and AWWA Public Affairs Council member Cliff Shrive.

Previous competition winners are Bloomington, Minn. (2016), Big Sky, Mont. (2015), Boston Water and Sewer Commission (2014), Oklahoma City Water and Wastewater Utility (2007 and 2013), Fremont, Neb. (2012), Greenville, S.C. (2011), Stevens Point, Wis. (2010), Macon (Ga.) Water Authority (2009), Louisville (Ky.) Water Company (2008) and Illinois American Water, Champaign District (2006 and 2005).