American Institute of Chemical Engineers Presents 2014 Awards

Nov. 19, 2014
Energy, education, biotechnology & biomedical engineering experts are among awardees

In a ceremony held in conjunction with its annual meeting, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) presented awards to 17 leaders in chemical engineering.

AIChE’s highest award, the Founders Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Field of Chemical Engineering, was presented to Stuart L. Cooper, professor and chair of the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Ohio State University. The award is supported by Evonik Corp. and is given annually to an engineer whose work has had an impact on the chemical engineering field.

Cooper is an expert in polymers and their applications, and is recognized for his development of polyurethane materials for use in biomedical applications. He has also made contributions to education and was instrumental in establishing new departments of biomaterials and biomedical engineering at the University of Delaware, Illinois Institute of Technology and North Carolina State University. He has also served as chemical engineering department chair at the University of Wisconsin and Ohio State University. He has documented his research in more than 350 articles and eight books, and he is co-founder and co-editor of the Journal of Biomaterials Science – Polymer Edition. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2011.

In addition, AIChE honored the following outstanding chemical engineers and chemical engineering teams:

  • Maria K. Burka, program director at the National Science Foundation, received the F. J. and Dorothy Van Antwerpen Award for Service to AIChE. The award is sponsored by The Dow Chemical Co.
  • Liangfang Zhang, professor at the University of California, San Diego, received the Allan P. Colburn Award for Excellence in Publications by a Young Member of the Institute. The award is sponsored by E.I. duPont de Nemours & Co.
  • Zhenan Bao, professor at Stanford University, was presented with the Andreas Acrivos Award for Professional Progress in Chemical Engineering. The award is endowed by The AIChE Foundation.
  • Paula Hammond, David H. Koch professor of chemical engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), a member of MIT’s Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research, and co-founder of MIT’s Institute for Soldier Nanotechnologies, was presented with the Alpha Chi Sigma Award for Chemical Engineering Research. The award is sponsored by the Alpha Chi Sigma Educational Foundation.
  • Adam Heller, research professor at the University of Texas at Austin, received the Award for Service to Society. The award is sponsored by Fluor.
  • Frank (Xin) Zhu, senior technology fellow at UOP LLC, A Honeywell Co., received the Energy and Sustainability Award. The award is sponsored by Air Products.
  • The Bechtel Pueblo Team, working at Bechtel in Pueblo, Colo., received the Engineering and Construction Award for their design and construction of the Pueblo Chemical Agent Destruction Pilot Plant.
  • Laura E. Leonard, principal development specialist in Olefins and Detergents Development at UOP LLC, A Honeywell Co., received the Industrial Progress Award.
  • Van N. Truskett, jetting technology manager at Canon Nanotechnologies Inc., was presented with the Industrial Research and Development Award.
  • Mark W. Pilling, manager of technology at Sulzer Chemtech USA Inc., received the Industry Leadership Award.
  • J. Douglas Way, professor at Colorado School of Mines, received the Institute Award for Excellence in Industrial Gases Technology. The award is sponsored by Praxair Inc.
  • Carmo J. Pereira, DuPont Fellow at E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Co., was presented with the Lawrence B. Evans Award in Chemical Engineering Practice. The award is sponsored by CACHE Corp.
  • Stephen A. Kiorpes, formerly of Scientific Design Co. and Rust/Raytheon Engineering Co., was presented with the Process Operations Award.
  • Manos Mavrikakis, Paul A. Elfers professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, was presented with the R. H. Wilhelm Award in Chemical Reaction Engineering. The award is sponsored by ExxonMobil Research & Eng. Co.
  • L. Gary Leal, Schlinger professor of chemical engineering at the University of California, Santa Barbara, received the Warren K. Lewis Award for Chemical Engineering Education. The award is sponsored by ExxonMobil Research & Eng. Co. 
  • Gregory Stephanopoulos, W. H. Dow professor of chemical engineering at MIT, received the William H. Walker Award for Excellence in Contributions to Chemical Engineering Literature. The award is sponsored by John Wiley & Sons.

“AIChE strives to be a catalyst in applying chemical engineering expertise in meeting societal needs, and this year’s honorees certainly exemplify and reinforce this objective,” said Otis Shelton, president of AIChE. “It is our hope that these honorees will inspire and encourage other chemical engineers to reach new heights, as we continue to have a profound impact on improving society.”

Source: American Institute of Chemical Engineers

Sponsored Recommendations

Get Utility Project Solutions

June 13, 2024
Lightweight, durable fiberglass conduit provides engineering benefits, performance and drives savings for successful utility project outcomes.

Energy Efficient System Design for WWTPs

May 24, 2024
System splitting with adaptive control reduces electrical, maintenance, and initial investment costs.

Meeting the Demands of Wastewater Treatment Plants

May 24, 2024
KAESER understands the important requirements wastewater treatment plant designers and operators consider when evaluating and selecting blowers and compressed air equipment. In...

Modernize OT Cybersecurity to Mitigate Risk

April 25, 2024
Rockwell Automation supports industry-leading Consumer Packaged Goods company, Church & Dwight, along their industrial cybersecurity journey.