WEF Announces 2012-2013 Board of Trustees

Oct. 12, 2012
Cordell Samuels of Ontario’s Duffin Creek Water Pollution Control Plant assumes WEF leadership

The Water Environment Federation (WEF) announced the members of its 2012-2013 board of trustees. The members were confirmed by WEF’s house of delegates during WEFTEC 2012—WEF’s 85th Annual Technical Exhibition and Conference—in New Orleans.

During a ceremony on Tuesday, Oct. 2, the WEF “gavel of leadership” was passed from President Matt Bond (Kansas City, Mo.) to incoming President Cordell Samuels, plant superintendent for the Duffin Creek Water Pollution Control Plant in the regional municipality of Durham in ON, Canada. President Samuels will work over the coming months to implement the organization’s new strategic initiatives, emphasizing leadership and innovative water management. 

“I challenge us all to focus on smarter approaches to managing water and look to drive innovation in our priority areas, including nutrient removal and recovery, energy recovery, and storm water management,” said Samuels. “This will require us not just to communicate more and to think bigger, but to show how we are ready to adopt new approaches that can provide even better and more sustainable services.”

In addition to President Samuels, the 2012-2013 board of trustees includes: President-Elect Sandra Ralston (Charleston, S.C.), Vice President Ed McCormick (Oakland, Ga.), Treasurer Rick Warner (Reno, Nev.), Immediate Past President Bond, Secretary and Executive Director Jeff Eger (Alexandria, Va.), Trustees Charles Bott (Hampton Roads, Va.), Fran Burlingham (Walnut Creek, Calif.), Kartik Chandran (New York, N.Y.), Scott Cummings (Auburn, Ala.), Ralph Exton (Trevose, Pa.), John Hart (Saco, Maine), Garry Macdonald (Auckland, New Zealand), George Martin (Greenwood, S.C.), Karen Pallansch (Alexandria, Va.) and Scott Trotter (Saint Charles, Ill.).

Source: Water Environment Federation