Clean Water America Alliance Announces 2011 U.S. Water Prize Winners

Feb. 22, 2011
Five winners recognized for watershed-based approaches to sustainability

The Clean Water America Alliance announced the winners of the 2011 U.S. Water Prize for watershed-based approaches toward water sustainability.

“These five water champions reflect the diversity of America and set a shining example for innovating, integrating and collaborating from coast to coast to sustain America’s most precious liquid asset,” said alliance President Ben Grumbles.

U.S. Water Prize winners by alphabetical order are the city of Los Angeles, Milwaukee Water Council, National Great Rivers Restoration & Education Center, New York City Department of Environmental Protection and the Pacific Institute.

The city of Los Angeles’ Department of Sanitation, and New York City Department of Environmental Protection are planning, integrating and incorporating innovative green infrastructure approaches and increasing resource recovery through water reuse and other cutting-edge technologies. Both cities are maximizing their resources through community partnerships and involvement. The Milwaukee Water Council is establishing public-private collaborations that advance water technology and promote economic development. As a result, the Milwaukee area is becoming known as a “World Water Hub.” A state-of-the-art facility, the National Great Rivers Research & Education Center in Alton, Ill., is mobilizing volunteer communities around the confluence of two rivers and creating a national and international center for science, education and public outreach. The Pacific Institute is consistently in the vanguard of water issues, from water use efficiency to climate change, informing political debate and elevating public awareness.

U.S. Water Prize winners will be honored in a special ceremony on May 9 at 5:30 p.m. at the Hotel Monaco in Washington, D.C. National water and environmental leaders will attend the celebration. Each recipient will receive a handcrafted ceramic work of art commissioned from internationally acclaimed potter Miranda Thomas.

The Clean Water America Alliance created and administers the U.S. Water Prize to recognize achievement and inspire action for water sustainability. Black & Veatch, CDM, CH2M Hill, Malcolm Pirnie, Veolia and Brown & Caldwell are sponsors of the inaugural 2011 award.

Source: Clean Water America Alliance

Sponsored Recommendations

Get Utility Project Solutions

June 13, 2024
Lightweight, durable fiberglass conduit provides engineering benefits, performance and drives savings for successful utility project outcomes.

Energy Efficient System Design for WWTPs

May 24, 2024
System splitting with adaptive control reduces electrical, maintenance, and initial investment costs.

Meeting the Demands of Wastewater Treatment Plants

May 24, 2024
KAESER understands the important requirements wastewater treatment plant designers and operators consider when evaluating and selecting blowers and compressed air equipment. In...

Modernize OT Cybersecurity to Mitigate Risk

April 25, 2024
Rockwell Automation supports industry-leading Consumer Packaged Goods company, Church & Dwight, along their industrial cybersecurity journey.