Deadline Approaching for 2010 WQA Award Nominations

July 23, 2009
Nominations must be received by August 12

The deadline for 2010 Water Quality Association (WQA) award nominations is Aug. 12, 2009.

Every member of WQA is eligible to nominate or be nominated. Winners will be announced at the association’s opening general session held at WQA Aquatech USA 2010 in Orlando.

To learn how to nominate someone, visit

There are eight award categories:
Hall of Fame Award. Entering the WQA Hall of Fame is the highest honor bestowed upon a WQA member. The recipient is recognized for his or her lifetime dedication and service to the water quality improvement industry and association.
Key Award. Like receiving the key to a city, this WQA member is recognized for demonstrating the highest qualities of leadership within his or her company, industry and various associations, as well as local, civic and community activities.
Regents Award. The Regents Award is presented to an individual (or a group) who has made a significant contribution at the state or local level working with issues affecting the industry such as ethics, legislation or educational efforts.
Award of Merit. This award may be presented to more than one company, individual or organization in recognition of exceptional service given to the water quality improvement industry.
Lifetime Membership Award. Given to those individuals who are or have been active within the industry, have rendered exemplary service to the association and whose knowledge and accomplishments in the field of water quality entitle them to special recognition.
Honorary Membership. This award is given to an individual whose occupation is outside the industry, but whose contributions to mankind through research, dedication and exemplary service in the field of water quality is admirable.
Ray Cross Award. In memory of Ray E. Cross, Water Specialist Emeritus, and past president of WCAI 1960, this award recognizes current and former WQA members whose pioneer spirit and unwavering commitment has made a notable difference in the water treatment industry and has not been previously honored with a leadership award.
International Award of Merit. This is given to an individual, organization or more than one company that has made significant contributions to the international water quality improvement industry.

Nominations are evaluated against the award criteria; therefore, nominations should include as much information as possible about the individual and the reasons they should be considered for a particular award. The information supplied is critical in order for the Awards Task Force to make a valid evaluation.

Source: WQA