Six Winners Receive Prestigious IWA Awards

July 16, 2021

Six scientists, individuals and organizations were announced as winners of the IWA Awards.

Six outstanding scientists, individuals and organizations were announced as winners of the International Water Association (IWA) Awards during the recent Digital World Water Congress.

Renowned academic Professor Marcos von Sperling won the IWA Global Water Award, which recognizes an innovative leader who has made a significant contribution to a water-wise world, according to the press release.

Professor von Sperling, from the Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais in Brazil, won the award for his work on wastewater and water pollution. His research, which has influenced policy in Latin America and beyond, has inspired many students, researchers and policy-makers.

The IWA Women in Water Award, which celebrates the work of women in the field of water, has been won by sanitation advocate Nafisa Barot, according to the press release. The award also promotes greater inclusion and female leadership in the sector. Nafisa was recognized for using her role at NGO Utthan in Gujarat, India, to influence people and policies around water, gender justice and sustainable development.

Malaysian sewerage company Indah Water Konsortium won the IWA Professional Development Award for their exceptional record of developing and retaining talent in the sector.

Renowned scientist and engineer Dr Siddhartha Roy was recognized for winning the IWA Young Leadership Award, which had been announced earlier this year. The award is granted to an exceptional young water professional for their achievements, leadership and future potential.

Moreover, two exceptional individuals were awarded IWA Honorary Life Membership, for their sustained contribution to the water sector and the Association, according to the press release. Those recognized were Prof Jiri Wanner, from the University of Chemistry and Technology in Prague, Czech Republic, and Prof Mark van Loosdrecht from Delft University of Technology, in the Netherlands.

The award ceremonies can be watched on the IWA YouTube account.