American Water Receives National Awards

Plants Honored for Maintaining Phase III Certification for 10 Years

The Partnership for Safe Water has honored American Water with 24 Directors Awards of Recognition for distinction in water quality. The awards were presented this week during the 2010 American Water Works Association Annual Conference in Chicago.

Twenty-three American Water plants received awards for maintaining Phase III certification for ten years, and one plant was presented with its first Directors Award for Phase III certification. The Partnership is a voluntary initiative developed by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and other water organizations to recognize water suppliers that consistently achieve water treatment standards that surpass EPA regulatory requirements.

The following American Water treatment plants were recognized in 2010 for maintaining the Phase III Directors Award status for ten years:

Illinois American Water

• Pontiac Water Treatment Plant
• Streator Water Treatment Plant

New Jersey American Water

• Delaware River Water Treatment Plant
• Raritan-Millstone Water Treatment Plant

Pennsylvania American Water

• Aldrich Water Treatment Plant
• Bangor Treatment Plant
• Brownell Treatment Plant
• Ceasetown Treatment Plant
• Ellwood Water Treatment Plant
• Fallbrook Treatment Plant
• Forest City Treatment Plant
• Gerald C. Smith Treatment Plant
• Hays Mine Water Treatment Plant
• Indiana Water Treatment Plant
• Kittanning Water Treatment Plant
• Milton Water Treatment Plant
• Montrose Treatment Plant
• Nesbitt Treatment Plant
• New Castle Water Treatment Plant
• Oneida Valley Treatment Plant
• Philipsburg Water Treatment Plant
• Silver Spring Treatment Plant

Tennessee American Water

• Citico Treatment Plant

In addition, West Virginia American Water’s Kanawha Valley Water Treatment Plant received its first Phase III Directors Award.

American Water

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options