May 21, 2019

Water Environment Federation Selects U.S. Stockholm Junior Water Prize Winners

2019 U.S. Stockholm Junior Water Prize winner to represent U.S. at international competition

2019 U.S. Stockholm Junior Water Prize winner to represent U.S. at international competition

The Water Environment Federation (WEF) announced the selection of 53 high school students as the 2019 state winners of the U.S. Stockholm Junior Water Prize. According to a WEF news release, the prize is “the nation’s most prestigious youth award for a water-related science project.” According to the site, the “prize taps into the unlimited potential of today’s high school students as they seek to address current and future water challenges.”

The students will compete in the finals June 15 in Columbus, Ohio, at the Ohio State University. The winner will receive $10,000 and a paid trip to Stockholm to represent the U.S. at the competition during World Water Week, Aug. 24 to 30.

According to WEF, the award aims to increase interest in water issues, research and careers as well as raising awareness about global water challenges. The competition includes projects to improve water quality, water resource management, water protection, drinking water treatment and wastewater treatment.

“This year's group of young scientists are addressing some of the most pressing challenges facing the water sector with remarkable ingenuity and passion," said Eileen O'Neill, WEF executive director. "We are extremely proud to provide a showcase for their collective talent, and eager to see the impacts these bright students will have."

WEF organizes regional, state and national competitions with support from Xylem Inc. The $1,000 Bjorn von Euler Innovation in Water Scholarship Award, sponsored by Xylem, will be awarded to the state winner, who has a passion for education, spirit of creativity and innovation. According to WEF, another project will be chosen for WEF’s James L. Condon Recognition for Environmental Stewardship.

More information on the prize can be found here, and a list of the state winners may be found here.