EPA Recognizes Winners of 2002 National Wetlands Awards

Seven outstanding wetlands educators, activists, scientists and conservationists were honored on May 16 at the U.S. Botanic Garden as recipients of the 2002 National Wetlands Awards for their exemplary contributions to the conservation and restoration of the nation's wetlands.
The Awards, sponsored by the Environmental Law Institute, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Natural Resources Conservation Service, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, USDA Forest Service and National Marine Fisheries Service, are designed to honor individuals from across the country who have demonstrated outstanding innovation and dedication to wetland education, research and volunteer activities, land stewardship and program management.
This event was held in conjunction with American Wetlands Month, organized by the Izaak Walton League of America. Winning photographs of EPA's photo contest, displaying the functions and values of wetlands, were on display at the ceremony. For more information, visit the following web sites.
List of winners: www.eli.org/whatsnew/02media/nwawinners.htm
Photos in the photo contest: www.epa.gov/owow/wetlands/photocontest.html
American Wetlands Month: www.epa.gov/owow/wetlands/awm/

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options