APWA Elects 2014-2015 President, Names Board Members

Board includes new & re-elected members

American Public Works Association Larry Stevens President

Larry Stevens, P.E., PWLF, project director for the HR Green Inc. in Johnston, Iowa, was elected president of the American Public Works Assn. (APWA) during the recent 2014 APWA International Public Works Congress and Exposition in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Elected by APWA’s approximately 29,000 members, Stevens will lead the 17-member board of directors and organization, which provides professional development and educational services to its members, advocates for investment in infrastructure, and supports 63 APWA chapters in North America. Stevens serves as President of APWA for the 2014-2015 term.

Stevens is joined on the board by APWA President-Elect Brian Usher, PWLF, director of public works for the City of Largo, Fla. Usher will serve a one-year term as APWA president-elect, followed by consecutive president and past-president one-year terms. Also on the board is Past-President Edward Gottko, PWLF, who is currently an adjunct professor at several colleges in New York and New Jersey.

New members to the APWA board of directors include Richard T. Berning (retired), of Springfield, Ill., serving as director of Region V, and Mary Joyce Ivers, CPFP, PWLF, City of Ventura, Calif., Public Works, appointed as director-at-large, fleet and facilities management. Also new to the board are Kathleen B. Davis, director of highway and local programs for Washington State Department of Transportation in Olympia, Wash., serving as director-at-large, transportation; and Maher Hazine, P.E., PWLF, vice president/director of municipal operations, W.C. Scoutten Inc. of Pine, Ariz., serving as director of Region VII.

Re-elected board members include: David L. Lawry, P.E., director of engineering and public works, Village of Schaumburg, Ill., as director-at-large, engineering & technology; and William E. (Bill) Spearman, III, P.E., vice president, Woolpert Inc. of Columbia, S.C., serving as director-at-large, environmental management. Also re-elected are Cora Jackson-Fossett, PWLF, (retired), as director-at-large, public works leadership and management; William (Bo) Mills , PWLF, director of public services with the City of Germantown, Tenn., serving as director from Region III; Tommy J. Brown, PWLF, superintendent of fleet services for the City of La Grange, Ga., as Region IV director; and Jill M. Marilley, P.E., MPA, PWLF, senior project manager for HDR Inc. of Shoreline, Wash., as Region IX director.

American Public Works Assn.

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options